I Bring The Law

August 30, 2010 at 7:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

While I was using my laptop last night to do a puzzle face-stalk work, my other half was watching the season finale of Whale Wars. He loves that show. I do not, but I don’t want to lose any friends this morning, so I’ll reserve my reasoning. Let’s just say I love eating bloody steak and shooting the occasional 9mm at a cardboard cutout of Mr. Goodwrench. Also, if I were to fly a black flag on my vessel, it would be a real pirate’s flag.

Hoodles, I wasn’t really paying any attention to the show until I heard the phrase “citizen’s arrest.” And I got real excited. One of the anti-whalers boarded a Japanese boat to make a citizen’s arrest of that ship’s captain. Two words: grande cojones.

You see, I happen to be absolutely fascinated with the idea of the citizen’s arrest. Sure, I’ve been advised by many people that citizen’s arrests are inadvisable because of certain allegedly justifiable safety concerns. But as far as I can tell, there is no law prohibiting the arrest of a scofflaw by yours truly. And I’m fairly absolutely certain that I can take anyone if the law is on my side. Even if I am seven months pregnant.

Sarah can attest that our daily commutes were frequently fraught with potential opportunities for me to do what I consider to be my civic duty. Yet we could never quite catch someone in the act. And trust me, I was always on the lookout for a bank robber, hit and run driver or illegal parker. However, I still haven’t arrested anyone.

Yet.

~April

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How do you feelabout being on the receiving end of a harpoon. Cojones Grandes indeed.

    • I feel real good about it. We’re talking about the beer, right?

  2. I just read this – if you ever come back to Boston, you could team up with her:

    http://jezebel.com/5625347/las-one+woman-crime-fighter-moves-to-boston

    (um, perhaps AFTER you give birth :)

    • I love this gal’s style! Except for the chain-smoking part.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

