Pregnancy, Part One

September 24, 2012 at 1:59 pm | Posted in Around Boston, Office Humor, Pregnancy Fun Time | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As you know, I’m fairly open about sharing news and life milestones, but for some reason, I felt REALLY awkward telling people about my pregnancy when it was time to share it.  Has any other mom-to-be felt this way?  Am I the only who couldn’t quite figure out a way to let people know?  Or who was content with people eventually figuring out that my belly was more baby than brownies (for a change) without my having to say it out loud?

Let’s just say I wasn’t quick to post ultrasound photos to Facebook… (“Not that there’s anything wrong with that!”)

But now that my pregnancy is “Facebook official” (thanks, mom!), I can blog about it freely and share my experiences thus far with a bun in my oven (icky expression).  Andrew and I are SO excited to be parents (g-d willing), but as you can imagine, there’s been a fair amount of awkwardness over these past 16 weeks, too.  Here’s a slice of the silly aspects of pregnancy thus far…

In the Dark with Morning Sickness

Because I work at a software company, the ratio of men to women is pretty skewed, so, despite the four stalls, the ladies room often feels like a private potty.  The plus side of that is, mid-first trimester when I spent a fair amount of time hovering over the porcelain throne, I could bank on being alone in there and easily hiding whenever I had to toss my cookies in the office bathroom.

However, this privacy also had a downside.  In an effort to save energy, the bathroom lights are on sensors, and after a few minutes without detecting movement, the lights shut off.  No windows, no night lights – it is pitch black in there when the overheads are off.  I can’t even begin to tell you how awkward it is to be locked in a bathroom stall in absolute darkness, on the verge of ralphing, praying you don’t miss the toilet while trying not to touch anything!

It should have been an event in London – I’d have won Olympic gold!


8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulation! I always tell people asap because I’m paranoid they’ll think I’m fat. So goodonya for having more sociable concerns 😉

    • LOL thanks for the perspective, Leah! I guess I’m used to people judging my midsection, but I’m not used to telling people that my marital relations finally resulted in a bun in the oven 😉 AWKWARD!

      • Upon hearing that a friend of ours, M, was pregnant, another friend, K, said, “If I ever get pregnant, I’m not going to announce anything until the baby is born. Then I’m going to put this status up on Facebook: ‘9 months ago, I had sex with _________ (K’s husband’s name).'”

        Then she suggested that our friend do the _exact_ same thing…with K’s husband’s name and all. Hilarious! 🙂

        • HAHAHAHAHAH! That’s awesome 🙂

  2. Wait!!!
    What????
    This happened because of marital relations???
    And you made me read about YOUR marital relations???
    Where’s the brillo pads to scrub my eyes?
    Okay – that should do it – you should now be totally desensitized to that concern and be able to shout your fabuous news to the heavens!!!
    So excited to welcome a new member of the family to the world -especially your baby!
    Yea!!!!!

    • I know! It’s so shameful!!! I’ll send you more soap for scrubbing! I’m stickin’ with the stork story 😉

      Love you!

  3. Congratulations Sarah! Mommy hood is the best! (and the worst… But ssssshhhhhh, you’ll get to that later!) hahaha. Just kidding. Very happy for you & your hubs!

    • Thanks, Mary Ellen! I’ll be counting on you to talk me through “the other parts” of parenthood, I’m sure! 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

